Wednesday, December 16, 2009

2010 Ford Flex Wins Award; Frank Myers Auto Responds

The National Automotive History Collection (NAHC) has named the 2010 Ford Flex its most collectible vehicle of 2009, beating out seven other vehicles shortlisted for the award. The Flex is the 11th vehicle to receive the award, given by members overseeing the "world-famous" automotive collection at the Detroit Public Library. Members say the Flex won because it was the most likely vehicle to turn heads at the 2034 Woodward Dream Cruise.

Members of the organization, which supports the world-famous automotive collection at the Detroit Public Library, vote annually to predict the “Collectible Vehicle of the Future” from the year’s new American-built cars and trucks. The Ford Flex was selected from eight all-new vehicles launched in 2009.

The award was presented to Ford executives by the Friends of the NAHC at their annual holiday reception on Thursday, Dec. 10 at NAHC quarters in the Skillman Branch Library in downtown Detroit.

The NAHC is the world’s largest public archive of automotive lore and a treasure for automotive historians, journalists and collectors. Its collection of books, manuals, photos, company histories and historic documents is open to the public.

“Due to the nature of my business, I like all cars. However, I am a Ford fan at heart and that’s why I’m excited that the Ford Flex has been recognized by the NAHC as having a design that will become a collectible of the future,” said Tracy Myers, owner of Frank Myers Auto Maxx in North Carolina.

“I knew from the first time I saw the Flex that it was a vehicle with stand-out design that looked like nothing else on the road, but that also meets the needs of our customers looking for passenger space with innovative technology and great fuel economy,” Myers said. “Reaction from our customers has been fantastic and we hope they will enjoy their cars long into the future.”

Charles K. Hyde, chairman of the NAHC Board of Trustees, said, “This selection is unique among all the ‘Vehicle of the Year’ awards, because it is selected by car buffs who know what future collectors will value. We asked our members to predict which of this year’s new vehicles will turn heads in the Woodward Cruise of 2034.”

Previous winners are:

2008 Dodge Challenger

2007 Dodge Viper SRT10

2006 Pontiac Solstice

2005 Ford Mustang

2004 Chrysler 300

2003 Dodge Viper

2002 Ford Thunderbird

1996 Chrysler Sebring Convertible

1995 Buick Riviera and Oldsmobile Aurora

(None selected from 1997 to 2001)